Wise words I found under the clutter on my desk…

I will often read something that I think is worth remembering. When I do, I usually write it down somewhere. Sometimes it gets added to the post-its lining the bottom of my monitor, and sometimes it gets lost in the clutter.

As I was re-arranging the clutter today, I ran across these wise words, scribbled on the back of an order form. I vaguely remember reading an article…one of those motivational ones…and writing these few lines down.

I’m glad that I found them today. Today I needed to see them again and I still  think that they are worth remembering!

“I can’t.” (YES YOU CAN.)

“I don’t know how.” (Then learn!)

“I’m not good at this.” (Then practice!)

“I’m afraid.” (That’s okay, bravery is being afraid but moving forward anyway.)

“I’m embarrassed to ask.” (I bet you’re not the first person to ask.)

“It’s a stupid question.” (I bet somebody else wants to know, too.)

“They’re so much better than me, I’ll never be as good as they are.” (No, you’ll be as good as YOU are.)

As much as I would like to take credit for these pearls of wisdom…I can’t, (I can’t even tell you where I found them) but I will accept the credit for recognizing good advice when I see and hear it.  I’ve struggling recently with feeling a bit stagnant in my art, and feeling a bit – well more than a bit, terrified at the current state of our government, and saddened at the lack of concern for the kind of world we may be leaving future generations, and well…feeling angry.

After re-reading the above wisdom and doing a little soul searching on a day when I was ready to crawl into a hole and pull the hole in after me, I’m instead going to pull on my big girl panties, set my somewhat square jaw in a determined expression and let my light shine!

P.S. I’ll let you know how it goes!Let It Shine

One thought on “Wise words I found under the clutter on my desk…

Leave a Reply

